MF Analyser

ICICI Prudential Contra Fund vs SBI CONTRA FUND

ICICI Prudential Contra Fund and SBI CONTRA FUND are both Value / Contra funds. As of 4 Nov 2026 (Direct plan, Growth option): 3-year CAGR — vs +11.12%, 5-year CAGR — vs +13.73%, volatility — vs 13.71%, maximum drawdown — vs −44.74%.

Showing the Direct plan, Growth option. Portfolio, sector and market-cap figures are the same for every plan and option of a fund.

Key facts

ICICI Prudential ContraSBI CONTRA
Fund houseICICI Prudential Mutual FundSBI Mutual Fund
Compared asValue / ContraValue / Contra
NAV—₹406.7969
NAV date—4 Nov 2026
Launched (first NAV)—2 Jan 2013
Track record—13.8 yrs
Fund size (AUM)—₹45,068 Cr
Securities held—93
Portfolio as ofNot disclosed yet30 Sep 2026
Fund pageFull record →Full record →

Returns

ICICI Prudential ContraSBI CONTRA
1 month—+2.88%
3 months—−3.37%
6 months—−1.95%
1 year—−4.98%
3 years (CAGR)—+11.12%
5 years (CAGR)—+13.73%
7 years (CAGR)—+20.78%
10 years (CAGR)—+15.34%
Since launch (CAGR)—+14.90%
SIP return (XIRR, 5 years) ⓘ—+10.51%

Up to one year: absolute return. Beyond one year: CAGR. Computed from each fund's own NAV history (AMFI), measured to the latest NAV.

Calendar-year returns

ICICI Prudential ContraSBI CONTRA
2026 (year to date)—−6.97%
2025—+7.02%
2024—+19.94%
2023—+39.53%
2022—+13.63%
2021—+50.98%

Risk

ICICI Prudential ContraSBI CONTRA
Volatility (annualised) ⓘ—13.71%
Downside volatility ⓘ—9.84%
Sharpe ratio ⓘ—0.34
Sortino ratio ⓘ—0.47
Maximum drawdown ⓘ—−44.74%
Recovery from that fall—8 months
Current fall from peak—−7.64%
Rolling 1-year return: worst—−36.07%
Rolling 1-year return: median—+13.59%
Rolling 1-year return: best—+124.05%
Share of 1-year periods with a loss—21.57%

Against each fund's benchmark

ICICI Prudential ContraSBI CONTRA
Beta ⓘ—0.89
Alpha (Jensen's, annualised) ⓘ—+0.50%
R² ⓘ—95.47
Upside capture—92.33%
Downside capture—86.62%
Tracking error—3.48%
Information ratio—0.07
Treynor ratio—4.41

Portfolio

ICICI Prudential Contra Fund has no usable portfolio disclosure on file yet, so portfolio comparisons are shown only where available.

Asset mix

ICICI Prudential ContraSBI CONTRA
Equity—88.57%
Cash & equivalents—5.81%
Foreign Securities—2.37%
Debt—2.24%
REITs / InvITs—1.01%

Market-cap split (share of fund assets)

ICICI Prudential ContraSBI CONTRA
Large Cap—50.21%
Mid Cap—24.54%
Small Cap—13.82%
Unclassified—0.00%

Concentration

ICICI Prudential ContraSBI CONTRA
Top 10 holdings—32.77%
Effective number of stocks ⓘ—55.3
Securities held—93

Top 10 holdings

ICICI Prudential Contra

Not disclosed yet.

SBI CONTRA

  1. HDFC Bank Limited4.79%
  2. Reliance Industries Limited4.67%
  3. ICICI Bank Limited4.36%
  4. Biocon Ltd.3.29%
  5. Kotak Mahindra Bank Limited3.15%
  6. Punjab National Bank2.91%
  7. Indus Towers Limited2.66%
  8. Torrent Power Ltd.2.48%
  9. GAIL (India) Ltd.2.33%
  10. Tata Steel Ltd.2.13%

Sector exposure

ICICI Prudential ContraSBI CONTRA
Banks—20.20%
Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology—6.70%
Petroleum Products—5.75%
Power—5.04%
Automobiles—3.94%
Telecom - Services—3.89%
IT - Software—3.56%
Ferrous Metals—2.96%
Gas—2.93%
Cement & Cement Products—2.86%
Retailing—2.58%
IT - Services—2.37%
Finance—1.95%
Industrial Products—1.93%

Questions people ask

What is the difference between ICICI Prudential Contra and SBI CONTRA returns?

As of 4 Nov 2026, Direct plan Growth option: 1-year return — vs −4.98%; 3-year CAGR — vs +11.12%; 5-year CAGR — vs +13.73%; 10-year CAGR — vs +15.34%. Past returns do not indicate future returns.

How do ICICI Prudential Contra and SBI CONTRA compare on risk?

Volatility (36 monthly returns, annualised) — vs 13.71%; Sharpe ratio — vs 0.34; Sortino ratio — vs 0.47; maximum drawdown — vs −44.74%; beta — vs 0.89.

Is this a recommendation to choose one of these funds?

No. This page places the published figures of both funds side by side. It does not rank, rate or recommend either fund; which one suits an investor depends on their goals, horizon and risk tolerance.

More comparisons

All Value / Contra comparisons → · Compare up to six funds yourself → · Every fund in this category → · All comparisons →

Sources: NAV from AMFI; returns, risk and ratios computed by MF Analyser from each fund's NAV history (risk on 36 monthly returns, risk-free rate 6.5%); benchmark ratios against each fund's benchmark total-return index; portfolios from each fund house's monthly disclosure. Returns and ratios as of 4 Nov 2026. IDCW options show no return or risk figures because payouts reduce the NAV and AMFI's file carries no payout history to add back. This page compares published figures only — it does not rank, rate or recommend either fund. Past performance does not indicate future returns; mutual fund investments are subject to market risks.