MF Analyser

ICICI Prudential Gold ETF vs Union Gold ETF

ICICI Prudential Gold ETF and Union Gold ETF are both Gold Index Funds & ETFs. As of 5 Nov 2026 (Direct plan, Growth option): 3-year CAGR +31.70% vs —, 5-year CAGR +23.69% vs —, volatility 20.46% vs 24.48%, maximum drawdown −29.66% vs −22.15%.

Showing the Direct plan, Growth option. Portfolio, sector and market-cap figures are the same for every plan and option of a fund.

Key facts

ICICI Prudential Gold ETFUnion Gold ETF
Fund houseICICI Prudential Mutual FundUnion Mutual Fund
Compared asGold Index Funds & ETFsGold Index Funds & ETFs
NAV₹122.0174₹139.5288
NAV date5 Nov 20265 Nov 2026
Launched (first NAV)26 Aug 201020 Feb 2025
Track record16.2 yrs1.7 yrs
Fund size (AUM)—₹291 Cr
Securities held—1
Portfolio as ofNot disclosed yet30 Sep 2026
Fund pageFull record →Full record →

Returns

ICICI Prudential Gold ETFUnion Gold ETF
1 month−3.08%−3.05%
3 months−3.30%−3.27%
6 months−5.13%−5.09%
1 year+18.49%+18.26%
3 years (CAGR)+31.70%—
5 years (CAGR)+23.69%—
7 years (CAGR)+19.55%—
10 years (CAGR)+15.29%—
Since launch (CAGR)+11.95%+32.94%
SIP return (XIRR, 5 years) ⓘ+27.25%—

Up to one year: absolute return. Beyond one year: CAGR. Computed from each fund's own NAV history (AMFI), measured to the latest NAV.

Calendar-year returns

ICICI Prudential Gold ETFUnion Gold ETF
2026 (year to date)+7.38%+7.30%
2025+72.49%—
2024+19.61%—
2023+12.88%—
2022+14.15%—
2021−4.50%—

Risk

ICICI Prudential Gold ETFUnion Gold ETF
Volatility (annualised) ⓘ20.46%24.48%
Downside volatility ⓘ9.68%11.69%
Sharpe ratio ⓘ1.241.08
Sortino ratio ⓘ2.612.26
Maximum drawdown ⓘ−29.66%−22.15%
Recovery from that fall48 months—
Current fall from peak−18.36%−18.32%
Rolling 1-year return: worst−19.78%+11.10%
Rolling 1-year return: median+9.58%+49.91%
Rolling 1-year return: best+114.01%+92.70%
Share of 1-year periods with a loss26.71%0.00%

Against each fund's benchmark

ICICI Prudential Gold ETFUnion Gold ETF
Beta ⓘ0.060.30
Alpha (Jensen's, annualised) ⓘ+22.25%+25.86%
R² ⓘ0.213.39
Upside capture56.22%64.59%
Downside capture-103.49%-109.26%
Tracking error24.71%26.92%
Information ratio0.901.09
Treynor ratio382.0088.96

Portfolio

ICICI Prudential Gold ETF has no usable portfolio disclosure on file yet, so portfolio comparisons are shown only where available.

Asset mix

ICICI Prudential Gold ETFUnion Gold ETF
Foreign Securities—97.29%
Cash & equivalents—2.71%

Market-cap split (share of fund assets)

ICICI Prudential Gold ETFUnion Gold ETF
Large Cap—0.00%
Mid Cap—0.00%
Small Cap—0.00%
Unclassified—0.00%

Concentration

ICICI Prudential Gold ETFUnion Gold ETF
Top 10 holdings—97.29%
Effective number of stocks ⓘ—1.1
Securities held—1

Top 10 holdings

ICICI Prudential Gold ETF

Not disclosed yet.

Union Gold ETF

  1. Gold97.29%

Sector exposure

ICICI Prudential Gold ETFUnion Gold ETF
Gold—97.29%

Questions people ask

What is the difference between ICICI Prudential Gold ETF and Union Gold ETF returns?

As of 5 Nov 2026, Direct plan Growth option: 1-year return +18.49% vs +18.26%; 3-year CAGR +31.70% vs —; 5-year CAGR +23.69% vs —; 10-year CAGR +15.29% vs —. Past returns do not indicate future returns.

How do ICICI Prudential Gold ETF and Union Gold ETF compare on risk?

Volatility (36 monthly returns, annualised) 20.46% vs 24.48%; Sharpe ratio 1.24 vs 1.08; Sortino ratio 2.61 vs 2.26; maximum drawdown −29.66% vs −22.15%; beta 0.06 vs 0.30.

Is this a recommendation to choose one of these funds?

No. This page places the published figures of both funds side by side. It does not rank, rate or recommend either fund; which one suits an investor depends on their goals, horizon and risk tolerance.

More comparisons

All Gold Index Funds & ETFs comparisons → · Compare up to six funds yourself → · Every fund in this category → · All comparisons →

Sources: NAV from AMFI; returns, risk and ratios computed by MF Analyser from each fund's NAV history (risk on 36 monthly returns, risk-free rate 6.5%); benchmark ratios against each fund's benchmark total-return index; portfolios from each fund house's monthly disclosure. Returns and ratios as of 5 Nov 2026. IDCW options show no return or risk figures because payouts reduce the NAV and AMFI's file carries no payout history to add back. This page compares published figures only — it does not rank, rate or recommend either fund. Past performance does not indicate future returns; mutual fund investments are subject to market risks.