MF Analyser

ICICI Prudential Contra Fund vs Union Value Fund

ICICI Prudential Contra Fund and Union Value Fund are both Value / Contra funds. As of 6 Nov 2026 (Direct plan, Growth option): 3-year CAGR — vs +12.23%, 5-year CAGR — vs +11.58%, volatility — vs 14.68%, maximum drawdown — vs −37.68%.

Showing the Direct plan, Growth option. Portfolio, sector and market-cap figures are the same for every plan and option of a fund.

Key facts

ICICI Prudential ContraUnion Value
Fund houseICICI Prudential Mutual FundUnion Mutual Fund
Compared asValue / ContraValue / Contra
NAV—₹30.6600
NAV date—6 Nov 2026
Launched (first NAV)—12 Dec 2018
Track record—7.9 yrs
Fund size (AUM)—₹378 Cr
Securities held—71
Portfolio as ofNot disclosed yet30 Sep 2026
Fund pageFull record →Full record →

Returns

ICICI Prudential ContraUnion Value
1 month—+3.97%
3 months—−2.60%
6 months—+0.36%
1 year—+0.03%
3 years (CAGR)—+12.23%
5 years (CAGR)—+11.58%
7 years (CAGR)—+16.13%
10 years (CAGR)——
Since launch (CAGR)—+15.09%
SIP return (XIRR, 5 years) ⓘ—+11.45%

Up to one year: absolute return. Beyond one year: CAGR. Computed from each fund's own NAV history (AMFI), measured to the latest NAV.

Calendar-year returns

ICICI Prudential ContraUnion Value
2026 (year to date)—−1.35%
2025—+7.95%
2024—+17.94%
2023—+34.56%
2022—+5.90%
2021—+33.20%

Risk

ICICI Prudential ContraUnion Value
Volatility (annualised) ⓘ—14.68%
Downside volatility ⓘ—10.22%
Sharpe ratio ⓘ—0.39
Sortino ratio ⓘ—0.56
Maximum drawdown ⓘ—−37.68%
Recovery from that fall—7 months
Current fall from peak—−3.10%
Rolling 1-year return: worst—−33.90%
Rolling 1-year return: median—+10.89%
Rolling 1-year return: best—+101.29%
Share of 1-year periods with a loss—10.09%

Against each fund's benchmark

ICICI Prudential ContraUnion Value
Beta ⓘ—0.93
Alpha (Jensen's, annualised) ⓘ—+0.80%
R² ⓘ—93.79
Upside capture—97.56%
Downside capture—92.68%
Tracking error—3.91%
Information ratio—0.16
Treynor ratio—4.66

Portfolio

ICICI Prudential Contra Fund has no usable portfolio disclosure on file yet, so portfolio comparisons are shown only where available.

Asset mix

ICICI Prudential ContraUnion Value
Equity—96.34%
Cash & equivalents—3.58%
Debt—0.08%

Market-cap split (share of fund assets)

ICICI Prudential ContraUnion Value
Large Cap—55.53%
Mid Cap—14.61%
Small Cap—25.45%
Unclassified—0.75%

Concentration

ICICI Prudential ContraUnion Value
Top 10 holdings—32.72%
Effective number of stocks ⓘ—50.1
Securities held—71

Top 10 holdings

ICICI Prudential Contra

Not disclosed yet.

Union Value

  1. ICICI Bank Limited6.44%
  2. HDFC Bank Limited4.12%
  3. Reliance Industries Limited3.75%
  4. Axis Bank Limited3.21%
  5. Bharti Airtel Limited2.98%
  6. State Bank of India2.93%
  7. Shriram Finance Limited2.73%
  8. NTPC Limited2.21%
  9. Tech Mahindra Limited2.19%
  10. Larsen & Toubro Limited2.16%

Sector exposure

ICICI Prudential ContraUnion Value
Banks—21.15%
IT - Software—6.89%
Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology—5.63%
Construction—5.58%
Petroleum Products—4.54%
Auto Components—4.07%
Retailing—3.91%
Finance—3.68%
Power—3.08%
Industrial Products—3.03%
Telecom - Services—2.98%
Ferrous Metals—2.75%
Consumer Durables—2.56%
Automobiles—2.53%

Questions people ask

What is the difference between ICICI Prudential Contra and Union Value returns?

As of 6 Nov 2026, Direct plan Growth option: 1-year return — vs +0.03%; 3-year CAGR — vs +12.23%; 5-year CAGR — vs +11.58%; 10-year CAGR — vs —. Past returns do not indicate future returns.

How do ICICI Prudential Contra and Union Value compare on risk?

Volatility (36 monthly returns, annualised) — vs 14.68%; Sharpe ratio — vs 0.39; Sortino ratio — vs 0.56; maximum drawdown — vs −37.68%; beta — vs 0.93.

Is this a recommendation to choose one of these funds?

No. This page places the published figures of both funds side by side. It does not rank, rate or recommend either fund; which one suits an investor depends on their goals, horizon and risk tolerance.

More comparisons

All Value / Contra comparisons → · Compare up to six funds yourself → · Every fund in this category → · All comparisons →

Sources: NAV from AMFI; returns, risk and ratios computed by MF Analyser from each fund's NAV history (risk on 36 monthly returns, risk-free rate 6.5%); benchmark ratios against each fund's benchmark total-return index; portfolios from each fund house's monthly disclosure. Returns and ratios as of 6 Nov 2026. IDCW options show no return or risk figures because payouts reduce the NAV and AMFI's file carries no payout history to add back. This page compares published figures only — it does not rank, rate or recommend either fund. Past performance does not indicate future returns; mutual fund investments are subject to market risks.